Journal: 02.14.2011

I made another book last week, this one with a sewn binding. It has a construction paper cover and multicolored pages. I found the lichen on a walk I took with some young friends to the Children’s Museum. It was on one of those days last week where it felt like spring was already in full force. We saw plants sprouting and flowers blooming: primroses, crocuses, and some that we thought were bluebells.

Today has certainly not felt like spring. The wind has been hurling the rain into the windows all day. Last night we were warm and cozy in our apartment as I cooked dinner (a rare occurrence). I don’t have much experience cooking, and I have a lot of fears associated with it. I’ve been trying to cook something each week to help me become more comfortable. This is the second time I’ve made this dish. It’s a spicy mix of chicken, sausage, peppers, onions, tomatoes, and chickpeas.

This weekend we went to a house show a couple blocks from where we live. I’d forgotten how nice house shows could be. The audience sat together on the kitchen floor, with more people spilling in around the doorway. Everyone was saying hello to friends and people they’d just met. We didn’t end up staying for very long, but the set we did hear was beautiful. The whole room was completely entranced by the delicate songs, as if we were all holding our breath.

Leave a Reply

